Course Directors

meet our Course Directors

Assoc. Prof. Lehtimäki

Kai A. Lehtimäki MD, PhD                                                                                

Associate Professor in Neurosurgery 

Tampere University Hospital




Tampere University Medical School, Finland (1997-2003)

Resident in neurosurgery, Department of Neurosurgery, Tampere University Hospital (2003-2009)

PhD degree, University of Tampere Medical School, Finland (2008)

Board certified neurosurgeon (2009-present)

Docent in neurosurgery, Tampere University Medical School, Finland (2016)


Working experience:

Consultant neurosurgeon, Tampere University Hospital (2009 – present)

Consultant neurosurgeon, Uppsala University Hospital, Sweden (2013-2014)

Consultant neurosurgeon, Helsinki University Töölö Hospital (2015)


Positions of responsibility:

European continuing medical training (ECMT) course director, ANT-DBS for epilepsy (2012-present)

Executive committee of Finnish neurosurgical association (2012-2014)

Executive committee of European Society for Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery (2012-present)

Steering committee of Medtronic Registry for Epilepsy (MORE) (2014-present)



Max Finck ECT investigator award, San Fransisco, USA (2009)

Student’s best lecturer award, Scandinavian society for neurosurgery, Beitostolen, Norway (2014)